On Mystery and Medieval Times

talk-captone-1It’s not because he’s one of the few insistently masked DJs around that Claptone is an enigma in the dance world. Rather, it’s because his swirling, psychedelic sounds have no close kin except in something as nebulous as “deep house” that Claptone is one of the most delightful mysteries to ever make you throw those shapes. Wanna know more before he heads down to Velvet Underground – Dance on 14 March? Read on as Claptone spreads his wisdom on…

HIS MEDIEVAL OBSESSIONS
Over the centuries I have been often drawn to the dramatic. It resonates with my spirit and makes me feel alive. The medieval times were crazy and some of the things I see at your modern events often remind me of them – emotions stripped back and visceral.

MYSTERY IN A POST-INTERNET AGE
Before this new digital age it was simple to perform tricks and a lack of information meant that many charletons were able to pretend to be magic. The Internet has taken away a lot of this shroud and so I happy to see many of these fakes fade away.

HIS ELECTRONIC LANDSCAPES
Mother nature is the most creative and spectacular magician of us all and I forever enthralled by her tricks and cunning. Electricity is a form of magic of nature. I am drawn to it.

HIS CREATIVE PROCESS
The feeling when a formation of a cloud of my emotions begins to gather is a process that I simply cannot explain.

HIS UPCOMING DEBUT
My first album has been a personal journey and I am pleased with the results. First I went out to the world to find like-minded spirits who can help me deliver what I have to say and then over time we forged these feelings from thin air to become what I am proud to share. Now in 2015 AD it is time to deliver my baby to the world…

THE DANCEFLOOR
Over the hundreds of years that I have been in existence I have seen many changes and always had to adapt. But one theme is constant and that is the power of rhythm to move us all.

ON HIS UPCOMING SINGAPORE DATE
I hear that Singapore is a magical place and a gateway between cultures. I am looking forward to absorbing the energy that lies at this intersection and sharing right back to you. Our experience should be to capture the special union of all our spirits and praise the path of fate that has brought us all together to be here now. What could be a more magical and positive experience to take away than that?

Catch Claptone at Velvet Underground – Dance on 14 March ($28/33)!